Wednesday, September 18, 2013

2013 Harvey Award Winners Complete List

Comic Professionals Honor Peers at the 2013 Harvey Awards Banquet

Comic Professionals came together Saturday night, September 7, 2013 to honor their peers during the presentation of the 2013 Harvey Awards.

The 2013 Harvey Awards were sponsored by presenting Sponsor Guinness; Platinum Sponsors Baltimore Comic-Con and Cards, Comics & Collectibles; Gold Sponsors Boom! Studios, DC Entertainment, Third Eye Comics; Silver Sponsors ComicMix, Comic WOW!, Geppi's Entertainment Museum, Insight Studios; Friend Sponsors Steve Conley's Bloop, Fantastic Forum, Graphitti Designs, and Painted Visions Comics, Cards & Games; and Gift Bag Sponsors Abrams ComicArts, BOOM! Studios, Dark Horse, DC Entertainment, Dynamite Entertainment, Fantastic Forum, Honest Tea, IDW Publishing, Popfun Collectibles, Random House publishing, Scholastic, and Valiant. The banquette to honor those nominated and the winners in more than 20 categories was hosted by the Baltimore Comic-Con and Cards, Comics & Collectibles.

Named in honor of Harvey Kurtzman, the Harvey Awards recognize outstanding achievement in the field of comics, and is the only industry award both nominated and selected by comic professionals. First awarded in 1988, it is one the industries oldest and most respected awards.

Writer Bill Willingham, best know as the scribe of Vertigo's Fables, acted as host and Master of Ceremonies for this year's event.

Special thanks go to the sponsors who generously donated to the 2013 Harvey Gift Bags, including: Abrams ComicArts; BOOM! Studios; Dark Horse Comics; DC Entertainment; Dynamite Entertainment; Fantastic Forum; Honest Tea; IDW Publishing; Popfun Collectibles; Random House Publishing; Scholastic Books; and Valiant Entertainment.

The 2013 Harvey Award winners include:

Best Original Graphic Album:  RICHARD STARK'S PARKER: THE SCORE, IDW

Best Continuing or Limited Series:  SAGA, Image Comics

Best Writer:  Brian K. Vaughan, SAGA, Image Comics

Best Artist:  Fiona Staples, SAGA, Image Comics

Best Cartoonist:  Jaime Hernandez, LOVE AND ROCKETS: NEW STORIES

Best Single Issue or Story:  SAGA # 1, Image Comics

Best Letterer:  Todd Klein, FABLES, DC Comics

Best Colorist:  Fiona Staples, SAGA, Image Comics

Best Syndicated Strip or Panel:  DICK TRACY, Joe Staton and Mike Curtis, Tribune Media Services

Best Online Comics Work:  BATTLEPUG, Mike Norton,

Best American Edition of Foreign Material:  BLACKSAD: A SILENT HELL, Dark Horse

Best Inker:  Klaus Janson, CAPTAIN AMERICA, Marvel Comics

Best New Series:  SAGA, Image Comics

Most Promising New Talent:  Dennis Hopeless, AVENGERS ARENA, Marvel Comics

Special Award for Humor in Comics:  Ryan North, ADVENTURE TIME, KaBOOM! Studios

Best Original Graphic Publication for Younger Readers:  ADVENTURE TIME, KaBOOM! Studios

Best Graphic Album Previously Published:  ALIEN: THE ILLUSTRATED STORY, Titan Books

Best Anthology:  DARK HORSE PRESENTS, various, Dark Horse


Best Cover Artist:  David Aja, HAWKEYE, Marvel Comics

Best Biographical, Historical or Journalistic Presentation:  ROBOT 6 WEBSITE, Comic Book Resources

Special Award for Excellence in Presentation:  BUILDING STORIES, Chris Ware, Pantheon Books

Dick Giordano Humanitarian of the Year Award:  Paul Levitz

Hero Initiative Lifetime Achievement Award: Sal Buscema

In addition, the Baltimore Comic-Con would like to thank those individuals who presented at this year's award ceremony, including: Joe Staton, Roger Langridge, Mark Buckingham, Ron Frenz, Dinesh Shamdasani, Bob Chapman, Josh Adams, Ramona Fradon, Mark Waid, Steve Geppi, Joe Hill, Dean Haspiel, Terry Moore, Neal Adams, Dan Parent, and Stan Sakai.  We would also like to thank Mark Wheatley for his contributions to our voting ballots, program guide for the evening, and awards ceremony presentation, and Glenn Hauman for his "web mastery".

The Baltimore Comic will host the Harvey Awards for the ninth year during the 15th annual show, taking place September 5-7, 2014.

In the coming monthss, look for more announcements from the Baltimore Comic-Con. We are looking forward to highlighting our guests, the Harvey Awards, industry exclusives, and programming. The latest developments can always be found on our website, Twitter, and Facebook pages.

Contact Information
Please use the following e-mail addresses to contact the Baltimore Comic-Con: - for any general press inquiries or to be added to our PR distribution - for requesting exhibitor, publisher, and Artist Alley applications - for inquiries about submitted registrations - for the Harvey Awards ceremony and banquet - for general Baltimore Comic-Con inquiries

About The Baltimore Comic-Con
The Baltimore Comic-Con is celebrating its 14th year of bringing the comic book industry to the Baltimore and Washington D.C. area. For more information, please visit

About The Harvey Awards
The Harvey Awards are one of the comic book industry's oldest and most respected awards. With a history of over 25 years, the last 7 in conjunction with the Baltimore Comic-Con, the Harveys recognize outstanding achievements in over 20 categories. They are the only industry awards nominated and selected by the full body of comic book professionals. For more information, please visit

No comments:

Post a Comment