Sunday, July 23, 2017

2017 Eisner Award Winners Announced (Complete List) - "Saga" Leads with Four Awards

The Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards, also simply know as the “Eisner Awards,” are awards annually given for creative achievement in American comic books. The awards are named for pioneering comic book writer, artist, and publisher, Will Eisner. Some consider the Eisner Awards to be the preeminent awards that honor American comic books, even referring to the awards as “the Oscars of comic books” (which is so obviously ridiculous).

The Eisner Awards also include the Comic Industry's Hall of Fame. The Eisner Awards are associated with the annual Comic-Con International convention held in San Diego, California, in July. The Eisner Awards have been given annually since 1988, with the exception of 1990.

The 2017 Eisner Award nominations were announced Tuesday, May 2, 2017. The winners were announced Friday, July 21, 2017 at a gala ceremony held during San Diego Comic-Con International 2017.

The 2017 Eisner Awards judging panel consisted of Alan Campbell, Rob Clough, Jamie Newbold, Robert Moses Peaslee, Dawn Rutherford, and Martha Thomases.

Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards Winners 2017:

Best Short Story
“Good Boy,” by Tom King and David Finch, in Batman Annual #1 (DC)

Best Single Issue/One-Shot
Beasts of Burden: What the Cat Dragged In, by Evan Dorkin, Sarah Dyer, and Jill Thompson (Dark Horse)

Best Continuing Series
Saga, by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples (Image)

Best Limited Series
The Vision, by Tom King and Gabriel Walta (Marvel)

Best New Series
Black Hammer, by Jeff Lemire and Dean Ormston (Dark Horse)

Best Publication for Early Readers (up to age 8)
Narwhal: Unicorn of the Sea, by Ben Clanton (Tundra)

Best Publication for Kids (ages 9-12)
Ghosts, by Raina Telgemeier (Scholastic)

Best Publication for Teens (ages 13-17)
The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl, by Ryan North and Erica Henderson (Marvel)

Best Humor Publication
Jughead, by Chip Zdarsky, Ryan North, Erica Henderson, and Derek Charm (Archie)

Best Anthology
Love Is Love, edited by Sarah Gaydos and Jamie S. Rich (IDW/DC)

Best Reality-Based Work
March (Book Three), by John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, and Nate Powell (Top Shelf)

Best Graphic Album—New
Wonder Woman: The True Amazon by Jill Thompson (DC Comics)

Best Graphic Album—Reprint
Demon, by Jason Shiga (First Second)

Best U.S. Edition of International Material
Moebius Library: The World of Edena, by Jean “Moebius” Giraud et al. (Dark Horse)

Best U.S. Edition of International Material—Asia
The Art of Charlie Chan Hock Chye, by Sonny Liew (Pantheon)

Best Archival Collection/Project—Strips (at least 20 years old)
Chester Gould’s Dick Tracy, Colorful Cases of the 1930s, edited by Peter Maresca (Sunday Press)

Best Archival Collection/Project—Comic Books (at least 20 Years Old)
The Complete Wimmen’s Comix, edited by Trina Robbins, Gary Groth, and J. Michael Catron (Fantagraphics)

Best Writer
Brian K. Vaughan, Paper Girls, Saga (Image)

Best Writer/Artist
Sonny Liew, The Art of Charlie Chan Hock Chye (Pantheon)

Best Penciller/Inker or Penciller/Inker Team
Fiona Staples, Saga (Image)

Best Painter/Multimedia Artist (interior art)
Jill Thompson, Wonder Woman: The True Amazon (DC); Beasts of Burden: What the Cat Dragged In (Dark Horse)

Best Cover Artist (for multiple covers)
Fiona Staples, Saga (Image)

Best Coloring
Matt Wilson, Cry Havoc, Paper Girls, The Wicked + The Divine (Image); Black Widow, The Mighty Thor, Star-Lord (Marvel)

Best Lettering
Todd Klein, Clean Room, Dark Night, Lucifer (Vertigo/DC); Black Hammer (Dark Horse)

Best Comics-Related Periodical/Journalism
The A.V. Club comics coverage, including Comics Panel, Back Issues, and Big Issues, by Oliver Sava et al.,

Best Comics-Related Book
Krazy: George Herriman, A Life in Black and White, by Michael Tisserand (Harper)

Best Academic/Scholarly Work
Superwomen: Gender, Power, and Representation, by Carolyn Cocca (Bloomsbury)

Best Publication Design
The Art of Charlie Chan Hock Chye, designed by Sonny Liew (Pantheon)

Best Webcomic
Bird Boy, by Anne Szabla

Best Digital Comic
Bandette, by Paul Tobin and Colleen Coover (Monkeybrain/comiXology)

Hall of Fame:

Judges’ Choices:
Milt Gross
H. G. Peter
Antonio Prohias
Dori Seda

Gilbert Hernandez
Jaime Hernandez
George Pérez
Walt Simonson
Jim Starlin

Russ Manning Promising Newcomer Award:
Anne Szabla

Bill Finger Award for Excellence in Comic Book Writing:
Jack Kirby, William Messner-Loebs

Bob Clampett Humanitarian Award:
Mark Andreyko, Joe Ferrara

Will Eisner Spirit of Comics Retailer Award:
Comicazi: Robert Howard, David Lockwood, Michael Burke, Somerville, MA


No comments:

Post a Comment